Department of Mechanical Engineering

Georg Benoit and the Establishment of the Institute of Materials Handling

The Schauinslandseilbahn- A Groundbreaking Development

On the over 1200-meter high mountain "Schauinsland", a cable car that manages to tackle a 746 meters difference in altitude with a 3.6 km distance runs from the gates of Freiburg. This railway was inaugurated in the summer of 1930 as the first passenger ropeway in the world with circular operation - in contrast to the previously used pendulum operation. It was designed and built under the direction of the Privy Court Councilor Dr. Georg Benoit, a professor at the Technical University of Karlsruhe.

Georg Benoit- His Life and His Work

Descending from a Huguenot family, Benoit was born in 1868 in Wesel. After studying mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Charlottenburg and several years of industrial activity, he was offered a trip to the United States in 1897 for the opportunity to study the local technical conditions, especially the already advanced conveying technology.

In 1901, a new Department of Lifting and Transport Machines in the Department of Mechanical Egineering was created and Georg Benoit, who in the mean time became the director of the Higher Prussian Mechanical Engineering School in Hagen, was chosen. Benoit's vocation to Karlsruhe was the foundation for the world's first Institute of Mechanical Handling, which was the beginning of a famous school in the field of lifting and transport equipments. 

Benoit was particularly interested in ski lifts and the wire rope as means of transport, and the Institute for Material Handling came to great fame. With his work "Die Drahtseilfrage" (1915), Benoit asserted a scientific dispute against the famous engineering professor from Stuttgart, Carl von Bach. Some of Benoit's students have later continued his work in the development of the cable car as professors.

Throughout his 35 years of service, Benoit was twice - 1911/12 und 1921/22 - given the title Rector. He was co-founder and long-time vice president of the Karlsruhe University Association. After his retirement, he was appointed an academic honorary citizen of the Fridericiana. Georg Benoit died in 1953 in Baden-Baden.

 

Artikel über Georg Benoit in UniKATH 2/2001 (pdf)

Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Georg Benoit und die Gründung des Instituts für Fördertechnik

Die Schauinslandseilbahn- eine bahnbrechende Entwicklung

Auf den über 1200 Meter hohen Berg "Schauinsland" vor den Toren Freiburgs führt eine Seilbahn, die auf 3,6 Kilometer Wegtrecke in einer knappen Viertelstunde 746 Meter Höhenunterschied bewältigt. Diese Bahn wurde im Sommer 1930 als erste Personenseilbahn der Welt mit Umlaufbetrieb - im Gegensatz zum bis dahin verwendeten Pendelbetrieb-- eingeweiht.Entworfen und gebaut wurde sie unter der Leitung des Geheimen Hofrats Dr.Georg Benoit, Professor an der Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe.

Georg Benoit- sein Leben und sein Werk

Einer Hugenottenfamilie entstammend, wurde Benoit 1868 in Wesel geboren. Nach dem Maschinenbaustudium an der TH Charlottenburg und einer mehrjährigen Industrietätigkeit, bot ihm 1897 eine Reise in die USA die Gelegenheit, die dortigen technischen Verhältnisse, insbesondere die bereits fortgeschrittene Fördertechnik zu studieren.

Als 1901 an der damaligen TH Karlsruhe eine neuer Lehrstuhl für Hebe- und Transportmaschinen in der Abteilung für Maschinenwesen geschaffen wurde, fiel die Wahl auf Georg Benoit, der mittlerweile Direktor an der Höheren Preußischen Maschinenbauschule in Hagen geworden war.Benoits Berufung nach Karlsruhe bildete den Grundstein für das weltweit erste Institut für Fördertechnik, den Beginn einer berühmt gewordenen Schule auf dem Gebit der Hebe- und Transportanlagen.

Benoit interessierte sich besonders für Seilschwebebahnen und dem Drahtseil als Beförderungsmittel. Sa kam das Institut für Fördertechnik zu großer Berühmtheit. Mit seinem Werk "Die Drahtseilfrage" (1915) setzte sich Benoit in einem wissenschaftlichen Disput gegen den berühmten Stuttgarter Maschinenbauprofessor Carl von Bach durch. Einige von Benoits Schülern haben später als Professoren seine Arbeit in der Seilbahnentwicklung fortgesetzt.

Im Laufe seiner 35-jährigen Dienstzeit wurde Benoit zweimal - 1911/12 und 1921/22 - der Rektortitel übertragen. Er war Mitbegründer und langjähriger stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Karlsruher Hochschulvereinigung. Nach seiner Emeritierung wurde er zum akademischen Ehrenbürger der Fridericiana ernannt. Georg Benoit starb 1953 in Baden-Baden.

 

Artikel über Georg Benoit in UniKATH 2/2001 (pdf)