Department of Mechanical Engineering

Before arrival

Table of contents

On this page you will find the following information:

  1. Course selection
  2. Learning Agreement
  3. Language Requirements
  4. Bachelor or Master Theses
  5. General questions


1. choice of course

In principle, you are completely free in your choice of courses and can choose those courses from the Bachelor's and Master's program that best fit into your course of studies and for which you receive recognition at your home university. When choosing your courses, however, please note that there are courses such as exercises, (block) seminars or internships which only accept a limited number of participants. Furthermore, if you are enrolled in the KIT Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, you should choose at least 70% of the courses from the course catalogues of the Mechanical Engineering Department. However, you are free to supplement your Learning Agreement with up to 30% of courses of other KIT faculties (e.g. economics, chemistry, electrical or civil engineering, computer science, etc.). We assume that our international exchange students take at least 20 - 30 ECTS per semester, including the language courses (German; all other languages) or the general education courses at the Center for Applied Cultural Studies and Studium Generale ZAK and House of Competences HOC.


Module manuals

An overview of all courses offered at the KIT Faculty of Mechanical Engineering can be found in our module manuals:

Please focus first on the module handbook for exchange students (without degree). The courses listed here are also available for exchange students via the CampusManagement System, i.e. you can register online for exams and retrieve your transcripts.


In addition, you can inform yourself about all other courses offered:
Module Handbook Bachelor's Program in Mechanical Engineering

References to the selectable courses taught in English can be found in the following compilations: alphabetically sorted and sorted by topic.

Furthermore, it is advisable to take a look at the KIT Lecture Translator, since courses in mechanical engineering are also translated simultaneously.


Attention: The examination in some courses includes the material of the complete module (= teaching contents of the winter and summer semester!) or builds on the knowledge of the previous course. Although it is possible to write the examination on the complete teaching content in each semester. However, exchange students who are only at KIT for one semester must either have previous knowledge of the subject matter or acquire the teaching contents of the missed semester on their own, which means a considerably increased learning effort. The following courses are concerned:

  • Fluid Mechanics I (summer semester) and Fluid Mechanics II (winter semester)
  • Materials Science I (winter semester) and Materials Science II (summer semester)
  • Thermodynamics I (winter semester) and Thermodynamics II (summer semester)

In addition, some courses require preliminary work during the semester, which is a prerequisite for the examination and also takes place over two semesters. Therefore, these courses can only be attended by exchange students who spend a complete academic year at KIT. Essentially, the following courses in the Bachelor's program are affected:

  • Machine Design I (winter semester) and Machine Design II (summer semester)
  • Machine Design III (winter semester) and Machine Design IV (summer semester)
  • Technical Mechanics III (winter semester) and Technical Mechanics IV (summer semester)



Module Handbook Master's Programme in Mechanical Engineering

You will find references to the courses taught in English, which can be selected, in the following compilations: sorted alphabetically and sorted by topic.

In addition, it is advisable to take a look at the KIT Lecture Translator, since courses in mechanical engineering are also translated simultaneously.


Module Manual Bachelor Degree Programme Materials Science
Module Manual Master Course Materials Science
Almost all courses in the Materials Science programme are offered in German.


Module Manual Bachelor Degree Programme Mechatronics
Module Manual Master's Degree Programme Mechatronics

Students of mechatronics can also attend the lectures of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering.


Please note: The Carl-Benz-School/International Department offers the international Bachelor's degree program Mechanical Engineering (International), which is taught exclusively in English. Admission to this course is limited and participation in the English course offer is only possible in a few exceptional cases for exchange students. As an international exchange student (ERASMUS or Overseas) you can try to register directly with the lecturer for courses marked with a 3xxx code. The decision about participation is made by the respective lecturer according to availability of places. You should therefore contact the lecturer of your preferred course early and ask for admission.

Language courses are offered by the KIT Language Center.

General education courses can be found at ZAK and HoC


2nd Learning Agreement

Please note the following instructions when creating your Learning Agreement:

  • Please use only the official form of the Learning Agreement.
  • Enter the title as well as the ECTS credits and the semester of your chosen courses and please note
  • It is absolutely necessary and obligatory to enter the code number (=LV number or T-MACH-xxx) of your chosen courses. We will not process Learning Agreements which do not have code numbers!
  • Information on the number of ECTS points per course, the language of instruction and the semester in which the course takes place can be found at the top of the course description in our module manuals. Please do not look in the course catalogue when searching for ECTS credits.


3. language requirements

Good language skills are expected for studying at the KIT Faculty of Mechanical Engineering.

  • You need a B1 level in German if you want to attend courses that are taught in German
  • We expect a B2 level in English if you want to attend courses exclusively in English and / or
  • We expect a B2 level in English if you intend to write your Bachelor or Master thesis during your exchange.

However, we strongly recommend that you acquire a good basic knowledge of German before you start your studies in Karlsruhe, which will make your daily life much easier, e.g. finding a room, shopping, social contacts...


4. bachelor or master thesis

If you intend to write a bachelor or master thesis during your stay at KIT, you have to find a supervisor at the institute where you would like to write the thesis. Please note that you have to find both your topic and your supervisor independently and without support by ISIM or IStO.

A list of all projects/work offered at Bachelor or Master level can be found here:

You can also check the homepages of the institutes to see which projects/works are currently being offered. Please select the institute you are interested in and click through to the offer of "Studies and Teaching" up to the offer of "Studies/Theses".

If you find a suitable project, write an e-mail to the contact person, asking about the conditions such as content, language, ECTS credits ... Normally, the KIT Faculty of Mechanical Engineering awards 15 ECTS for Bachelor theses and 30 ECTS for Master theses. In exceptional cases, the assignment of tasks and the ECTS number can be adapted to the requirements of your home university. Please discuss this directly with your supervisor at the institute. In any case, both your supervisor at KIT and the responsible person at your home university must agree with the project you have chosen.


5. general questions

For all general questions regarding application, admission, room search, enrolment, orientation week, intensive language courses etc. please visit the homepage of the International Students Office

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Andrea Morlock-Scherm
ISIM International Studieren im Maschinenbau
Andrea Morlock-Scherm
Leitung ISIM

Tel. 0721/ 608 47716
E-Mail: andrea morlock-schermQxe9∂kit edu      

Sprechzeiten

Dienstag 14:00 bis 16:00 Uhr und
Donnerstag von 10:00 bis 12:00 Uhr

Adresse

Geb. 10.23, Zi. 706,
Kaiserstr. 12
76128 Karlsruhe
 

Vor der Ankunft

Inhaltsübersicht

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie folgende Informationen:

  1. Kurswahl
  2. Learning Agreement
  3. Sprachliche Voraussetzungen
  4. Bachelor- oder Masterarbeiten
  5. Allgemeine Fragen

 

1. Kurswahl

Sie sind in Ihrer Kurswahl prinzipiell völlig frei und können aus dem Angebot des Bachelor- und Masterstudienganges diejenigen Veranstaltungen wählen, die am besten in Ihren Studienablauf passen und für die Sie an Ihrer Heimathochschule Anerkennung erhalten. Beachten Sie bei der Wahl Ihrer Kurse aber bitte, dass es Veranstaltungen wie z.B. Übungen, (Block-)Seminare oder Praktika gibt, die nur eine beschränkte Anzahl von Teilnehmern aufnehmen. Außerdem sollten Sie, wenn Sie in der KIT- Fakultät für Maschinenbau eingeschrieben sind, mindestens 70% der Kurse aus den Kurskatalogen des Maschinenbaus wählen. Es ist Ihnen aber freigestellt, Ihr Learning Agreement darüber hinaus mit bis zu 30% fachfremden Kursen anderer KIT-Fakultäten (wie z.B. Wirtschafts-, Chemie-, Elektro- oder Bauingenieurwesen oder Informatik…) zu ergänzen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass unsere internationalen Austauschstudierenden min. 20 – 30 ECTS pro Semester belegen, einschließlich der Sprachkurse (Deutsch; alle anderen Sprachen)  oder der allgemeinbildenden Kurse am Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale ZAK und House of Competences HOC.

 

Modulhandbücher

Einen Überblick über alle Kurse, die an der KIT Fakultät für Maschinenbau angeboten werden, finden Sie in unseren Modulhandbüchern:

Bitte konzentrieren Sie sich zunächst auf das Modulhandbuch für Austauschstudierende (ohne Abschluss)

Darüber hinaus können Sie sich aber über alle weiteren Veranstaltungsangebote informieren :


Modulhandbuch Bachelorstudiengang Maschinenbau

Hinweise auf die in Englisch unterrichteten, wählbaren Kurse finden Sie in dieser Zusammenstellung. Darüber hinaus bietet es sich an, einen Blick in den Lecture Translator des KIT zu werfen, da auch Kurse aus dem Maschinenbau simultan übersetzt werden.

 

Achtung: Die Prüfung in einigen Kursen beinhaltet den Stoff des vollständigen Moduls (= Lehrinhalte des Winter– und Sommersemesters!) oder baut auf den Kenntnissen des vorherigen Kurses auf. Es ist zwar möglich, die Prüfung über den kompletten Lehrinhalt in jedem Semester zu schreiben. Austauschstudierende, die nur ein Semester am KIT sind, müssen aber entweder Vorkenntnisse des Stoffes mitbringen oder sich die Lehrinhalte des verpassten Semesters eigenständig aneignen, was einen wesentlich erhöhten Lernaufwand bedeutet. Es handelt sich dabei um folgende Kurse:

  • Strömungslehre I (Sommersemester) und Strömungslehre II (Wintersemester)
  • Werkstoffkunde I (Wintersemester) und Werkstoffkunde II (Sommersemester)
  • Thermodynamik I (Wintersemester) und Thermodynamik II (Sommersemester)

Außerdem sind in manchen Kursen semesterbegleitende Vorleistungen zu erbringen, die als Prüfungsvoraussetzung gelten und ebenfalls über zwei Semester laufen. Diese Kurse können daher nur von Austauschstudierenden besucht werden, die ein komplettes Studienjahr am KIT verbringen. Im Wesentlichen sind folgende Kurse im Bachelorstudiengang betroffen:

  • Maschinenkonstruktionslehre I (Wintersemester) und Maschinenkonstruktionslehre II (Sommersemester)
  • Maschinenkonstruktionslehre III (Wintersemester) und Maschinenkonstruktionslehre IV(Sommersemester)
  • Technische Mechanik III(Wintersemester) und Technische Mechanik IV(Sommersemester)

 

 

Modulhandbuch Masterstudiengang Maschinenbau

Hinweise auf die in Englisch unterrichteten, wählbaren Kurse finden Sie in dieser Zusammenstellung. Darüber hinaus bietet es sich an, einen Blick in den Lecture Translator des KIT zu werfen, da auch Kurse aus dem Maschinenbau simultan übersetzt werden.

 

Modulhandbuch Bachelorstudiengang Materialwissenschaften
Modulhandbuch Masterstudiengang Materialwissenschaften
Im Studiengang Materialwissenschaften werden fast alle Kurse auf Deutsch angeboten.

 

Modulhandbuch Bachelorstudiengang Mechatronik
Modulhandbuch Masterstudiengang Mechatronik

Studierende der Mechatronik können auch die Vorlesungen der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik besuchen.

 

Achtung: Die Carl-Benz-School/International Department bietet den internationalen Bachelorstudiengang Mechanical Engineering (International) an, der ausschließlich auf Englisch unterrichtet wird. Die Zulassung zu diesem Studiengang ist beschränkt und eine Teilnahme an dem englischen Kursangebot ist für Austauschstudierende nur in wenigen Ausnahmefällen möglich. Sie können als internationale Austauschstudierende (ERASMUS oder Overseas) versuchen, sich direkt beim Dozenten für Kurse anzumelden, die mit einem 3xxx-Code gekennzeichnet sind. Die Entscheidung über eine Teilnahme trifft der jeweilige Dozent nach Verfügbarkeit der Plätze. Sie sollten daher frühzeitig mit dem Dozenten des von Ihnen präferierten Kurses Kontakt aufnehmen und um Zulassung bitten.

Sprachkurse werden vom Sprachzentrum des KIT angeboten.

Allgemeinbildende Kurse finden Sie beim ZAK und HoC

 

2. Learning Agreement

Bitte beachten Sie die folgenden Hinweise bei der Erstellung Ihres Learning Agreements:

  • Benutzen Sie bitte ausschließlich die offizielle Form des Learning Agreements.
  • Tragen Sie sowohl den Titel als auch die ECTS-Punkte und das Semester Ihrer gewählten Kurse ein und beachten Sie bitte:
  • Es ist absolut notwendig und verpflichtend, die Code-Nummer (=LV-Nummer oder T-MACH-xxx) Ihrer gewählten Kurse einzutragen. Wir werden keine Learning Agreements bearbeiten, die keine Code-Nummern aufweisen!
  • Angaben zur Anzahl der ECTS-Punkte pro Kurs, zur Unterrichtssprache sowie zum Semester, in dem der Kurs stattfindet, finden Sie ganz oben bei der Kursbeschreibung in unseren Modulhandbüchern. Bitte schauen Sie auf der Suche nach den ECTS-Punkten nicht in das Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

 

3. Sprachliche Voraussetzungen

Für ein Studium an der KIT-Fakultät für Maschinenbau werden gute Sprachkenntnisse erwartet.

  • Sie benötigen ein B1-Level in Deutsch, wenn Sie Kurse besuchen wollen, die in deutscher Sprache unterrichtet werden
  • Wir erwarten ein B2-Level in Englisch, wenn Sie ausschließlich englischsprachige Kurse besuchen wollen und / oder
  • Wir erwarten ein B2-Level in Englisch, wenn Sie beabsichtigen, Ihre Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit während Ihres Austausches zu schreiben.

Wir empfehlen aber dringend, sich vor dem Studienbeginn in Karlsruhe gute Grundkenntnisse in Deutsch anzueignen, die Ihnen das alltägliche Leben wie z.B. Zimmersuche, Einkaufen, soziale Kontakte… deutlich erleichtern werden.

 

4. Bachelor- oder Masterarbeiten

Wenn Sie beabsichtigen eine Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit während Ihres Aufenthaltes am KIT zu schreiben, müssen Sie an dem Institut, an dem Sie die Arbeit gern schreiben möchten, einen Betreuer finden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie sowohl Ihr Thema als auch Ihren Betreuer eigenständig und ohne Unterstützung durch ISIM oder IStO finden müssen.

Eine Auflistung aller Projekte/Arbeiten, die auf Bachelor- oder Master-Niveau angeboten werden, finden Sie hier:

Außerdem können Sie auf den Homepages der Institute nachschauen, welche Projekte/Arbeiten derzeit angeboten werden. Bitte wählen Sie das Institut, für das Sie sich interessieren, und klicken sich bei „Studium und Lehre“ bis zu dem Angebot von „Studien/Abschlussarbeiten“ durch.

Wenn Sie ein für sich geeignetes Projekt finden, schreiben Sie der Kontaktperson eine Mail, in der Sie nach den Bedingungen wie Inhalt, Sprache, ECTS-Punkte … fragen sollten. Normalerweise werden an der KIT-Fakultät für Maschinenbau 15 ECTS für Bachelorarbeiten und 30 ECTS für Masterarbeiten vergeben. In Ausnahmefällen können die Aufgabenstellung und die ECTS-Zahl an die Anforderungen Ihrer Heimathochschule angepasst werden. Bitte besprechen Sie dies direkt mit Ihrem Betreuer am Institut. Auf jeden Fall müssen sowohl Ihr Betreuer am KIT als auch die verantwortliche Person an Ihrer Heimathochschule mit dem von Ihnen gewählten Projekt einverstanden sein.

 

5. Allgemeine Fragen

Für alle allgemeinen Fragen zur Bewerbung, Zulassung, Zimmersuche, Einschreibung, Orientierungswoche, Intensiv-Sprachkurse etc. schauen Sie bitte auf die Homepage des International Students Office