The Department of Mechanical Engineering belongs to KIT Area 3 "Mechanical and Electrical Engineering" together with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, four Helmholtz programs, and eight institutes of the large-scale research area. The department consists of more than 20 institutes with 700 employees, including about 40 professors, 460 research assistants, and 200 administrative and technical staff. In addition, there are several hundred tutors and scientific assistants.


Information on the department